Marika Koroibete wins 2022 John Eales Medal

Sun, Apr 23, 2023, 11:55 PM
Rugby Australia
by Rugby Australia
Marika Koroibete has won the 2022 John Eales Medal. Photo: Supplied
Marika Koroibete has won the 2022 John Eales Medal. Photo: Supplied

Wallabies winger Marika Koroibete has won the 2022 John Eales Medal following his outstanding International form across the eToro England Series and The eToro Rugby Championship.

Now a two-time winner of the award, Koroibete (202 votes) edged out Rob Valetini (170 votes) and Allan Alaalatoa (168 votes) to be presented the medal by Wallabies General Manager Chris Webb in Japan this morning.

Voted by the players, Koroibete’s performances in each of the first nine Tests of the season saw him establish such a lead in the voting that he could not be caught despite missing the end of year tour to Europe and the UK.

Despite going down to England 2-1, Koroibete’s work rate, powerful running and hard-hitting defence saw him voted Player of the Series across both teams, and the recipient of the John Cadbury Plate.

The winger continued his form into the eToro Ruby Championship with his efforts in the Adelaide Test against the World Champion Springboks gaining global attention, scoring a try, and delivering a crunching try-saving tackle on the opposite wing.

Koroibete celebrated his 50th cap for the Wallabies against New Zealand in Melbourne, helping set up one of the tries of the year when he combined with Pete Samu down the sideline.

Such was his form on both sides of the ball in the Rugby Championship, Koroibete finished as the leading ball-carrying back across the whole competition and the highest ranked Wallaby for both defenders beaten and offloads.

He joins George Smith, Nathan Sharpe, Michael Hooper, Israel Folau and David Pocock as players who have won the award on multiple occasions.

2022 John Eales Medallist Marika Koroibete said: "It's an honour to be awarded the 2022 John Eales Medal, especially in a season where so many players played well in the Wallabies jersey."

"Rugby is a team sport first and foremost, so I'd like to thank my teammates and to know they were the ones who voted for me to win this award means a lot.

"It's been a dream come true to represent the Wallabies and I hope I can continue to contribute to the team in what's a massive year ahead."

John Eales AM said: “Marika’s consistency in attack and defence has become a feature of the Wallabies since his debut."

"He combines passion and skill in the perfect measure.”

Past Winners

2022: Marika Koroibete

2021: Michael Hooper

2020: Michael Hooper

2019: Marika Koroibete

2018: David Pocock

2017: Israel Folau

2016: Michael Hooper

2015: Israel Folau

2014: Israel Folau

2013: Michael Hooper

2012: Nathan Sharpe

2011: Kurtley Beale

2010: David Pocock

2009: Matt Giteau

2008: George Smith

2007: Nathan Sharpe

2006: Chris Latham

2005: Jeremy Paul

2004: David Lyons

2003: Phil Waugh

2002: George Smith

2023 eToro Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup Fixtures

Wallabies v South Africa, 5:05pm SAST/1:05am AEST, Saturday 8 July at Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria

Wallabies v Argentina, 7:45pm AEST, Saturday 15 July at CommBank Stadium, Sydney

Wallabies v New Zealand, 7:45pm AEST, Saturday 29 July at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Wallabies v New Zealand, 2:35pm NZST/12:35pm AEST Saturday 5 August at Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin

For all your ticketing information, sign up to Team Rugby here.

Noah Lolesio has re-committed to Australian Rugby. Photo: Getty Images
Lolesio inks contract extension with Australian Rugby
Schmidt embracing 'unique' Wallabies challenge with countdown underway for opening Wales Test
Zane Nonggorr at a Rugby World Cup community engagement opportunity in France last year. Photo: Getty Images
Zane Nonggorr extends contract with Australian Rugby
Hunter Paisami is looking to add to his 24 Tests so far for the Wallabies. Photo: Getty Images
Paisami re-signs for two more years